ADD YOUR EMAIL to our mailing list to be the first to hear about new music, giveaways, and more!

The Walkaways Are:

  • Todd Daniel—lead vocals, guitar, mandolin
  • Mark Bower—keys, mandolin, accordion, guitar, vocals
  • John Cunningham— drums and percussion
  • Bobby Birdsong—pedal-steel guitar
  • Jackson Edwards—bass

The Walkaways are a metropolitan DC-based band, making original music since 2006. The band is currently putting the finishing touches on their third full-length album, tentatively entitled "After the Fall" and scheduled for a 2016 release. This follows Fifty Left to Burn (2008) and Romance and Medicine (2012), the latter recorded and co-produced with Grammy-nominated producer John Jennings (Mary Chapin Carpenter, Indigo Girls, The Rankin Family, Iris Dement).

From the beginning The Walkaways' sound has been called "alt-country" (Washington Post, Washington City Paper, Washingtonian Magazine), and that description still fits pretty well. Their songs draw even more broadly, however, from Americana, folk, roots, country, indie, and classic rock. Key influences include Ryan Adams, Son Volt, Wilco, Springsteen, Uncle Tupelo, Josh Ritter, The Band, and Old 97s.

You can hear The Walkaways play live at popular DC-area venues that support original music, such as IOTA, Gypsy Sallys, Sehkraft Brewery, Evening Star Cafe, and Port City Brewery, along with local festivals, charity events, and every now and then at venues in NYC like Arlene's Grocery and Rockwood Music Hall.

Upcoming Shows

  • fri

Port City Brewing,
Alexandria, VA
No cover 7-9pm

  • sat

Westover Market,
Arlington, VA
No cover 5-9pm in the Beer Garden

  • th

Epicure Cafe,
Fairfax, VA
No cover, 8pm up on the roof


  • 06.16.15
    The band is happy to report that Jackson Edwards of Weathervanes fame has joined us on the bass.
  • 09.28.14
    This weekend the band started work at The Brink studio with Mike Reina on our third record, tentatively called, "On This Calm Summer Night." At the same time we're losing Jordan Mansicalco on the bass--gone way too soon.
  • 09.16.13
    After almost eight years, founding member of The Walkaways Fabio Gutierrez is leaving the band to pursue a new passion -- the Louden Symphony Orchestra. He will be missed! In a related story, we're excited to have Jordan Maniscalco joining the band on the bass.
  • 01.19.13
    Thanks to everyone who came out for an amazing CD release show at IOTA for Romance and Medicine! The band had a great time playing the new songs for everyone and sharing the stage with our good friends Orchard Wall and Tom McBride.
  • 12.4.12
    The Walkaways new CD Romance and Medicine Is finally here! It can be purchased at Amazon, CDBaby, and iTunes!
  • 10.28.12
    The Walkaways new CD Romance and Medicine will be officially release December 4th, 2012! It's been quite a journey for the group but the disc is finally here. Stay tuned for the CD Release Show details!
  • 03.19.12
    The band is currently mixing the new CD! Stay tuned for release date and shows supporting the CD release!